Coretta Scott King Illustrator Awards

The Coretta Scott King Awards are given to African-American authors and illustrators of books that depict their cultural heritage. The John Steptoe New Author/Illustrator Award recognizes an African-American book whose first book shows excellence.

The Undefeated by Kadir Nelson and Kwame Alexander

The Bell Rang by James L. Ransome

Sulwe by Vashti Harrison and Lupita Nyong'o

Infinite Hope: a Black Artist's Journey from World War II to Peace by Ashley Bryan

New Illustrator Award

What is Given from the Heart by April Harrison and Patricia C. McKissack